Migrant Education

Region 6 logo mEP

Welcome to Imperial County Migrant Education Region VI

The Migrant Education Program (MEP) is a federally funded program, authorized under the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) of 2001 designed to provide supplementary educational and support services to identified migrant students.  Currently Region 6 enrollment is approximately 7,754 migrant students ages 3-21. The school age children are being served by 13 school districts in Imperial County.

Migrant Education, Region VI is a supplemental educational program that provides support services through partnership and collaboration with school districts and community agencies to maximize the academic success of migrant students. Region 6 works closely with parents, school districts and community agencies to design supplementary academic services, activities and programs to ensure equitable opportunities for all migrant students and thus increase the graduation rate in the migrant student population.


Supplementary Services offered to MEP students:

  • Medical/dental/optical services
  • Educational support
  • Summer school programs
  • After-school programs
  • Outdoor educational experiences

These are some of the supplementary services that Imperial County Migrant Education Program Region VI, in partnership and collaboration with school districts, offers to the migrant student population.  Additionally, ICOE-MEP Region VI offers advocacy and academic guidance to all our migrant students.
 

 

 

   
 
 

MEP Region VI Director

Dr. Sandra Kofford

760-312-6448

skofford@icoe.org

 

 

   

MEP Fiscal Manager

Clarissa Acuna

760-312-6458

clarissaa@icoe.org

MEP Manager

Manuel Soto

760-312-6455

msoto@icoe.org

MEP Identification
and Recruitment Supervisor

Ramon Santana

760-312-6475

rsantana@icoe.org

MEP Academic and Health
Support Services Supervisor

Amelia Rosas-Carlos

760-312-6449

acarlos@icoe.org

MEP Student Support Specialist

Mireli Rahiotis

760-312-6463

mireli.rahiotis@icoe.org