ELPAC & Alternate ELPAC

ELPAC || Alternate ELPAC


The ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It consists of two separate ELP assessments: one for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of ELP.

Computer-based ELPAC Overview Video

California Assessment Accessibility Resources

The California Assessment Accessibility Resources Matrix (Accessibility Matrix) displays the embedded and non-embedded universal tools, designated supports, and accommodations (UDAs) allowed as part of the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) and English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) Systems for 2020–21.

Alternate ELPAC

The Alternate English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is an annual assessment to measure and identify a student's English language proficiency (ELP) level for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. The Alternate ELPAC will replace all locally determined alternate assessments once operational and, for the first time, provides a consistent, standardized, measurement of ELP across the state for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities.

This assessment is intended only for a student who has a significant cognitive disability and whose individualized education program (IEP) team has decided that the student should take alternate assessments. The Alternate ELPAC Fact Sheet (PDF) provides a summary of information.

Alternate ELPAC Video for Parents